In BlueDolphin, you can delete objects either from a specific view or completely from the repository. This article explains how to delete single or multiple objects while working on views or from the Objects tab, helping you keep your architecture clean and organized.
There are 2 ways to delete an object in BlueDolphin as follows:
Delete Objects From the View
You can delete objects in a view by clicking the trash icon or pressing the Delete key on your keyboard.
Delete a single object:
Select the object and click the trash icon.
In the Remove object from view? pop-up, selecting the Also, permanently delete these objects from the repository checkbox deletes the object from the repository.
If you keep it unchecked, the object is removed from the view only.
If you select the checkbox, selecting the Remove object from view button leads you to the next pop-up, which displays the list of views and relations where the object is currently being used.
This pop-up appears only if the object has relationships or is used in other views.
Click Permanently delete object to confirm the deletion from the repository.
Delete Multiple Objects:
Select all the objects you want to delete from the view, and click the trash icon.
In the Remove objects from view? pop-up, select the Also, permanently delete these objects from the repository checkbox to remove the objects from the repository.
If you leave it unchecked, the objects are removed from the Views only.
Clicking the Remove objects from view button leads to the next pop-up, showing the list of views and relations where the selected objects are currently being used.
Type DELETE in the text box at the bottom of the pop-up to confirm the deletion.
Click Permanently delete objects
Delete Objects from the Repository
If you delete an object from the Object Viewer—either from the View or the Objects tab—BlueDolphin deletes it from the repository along with all its relationships and removes it from all public, private, and published views.
Delete a Single Object from the Object Viewer
Select a single object from the view or Objects tab, and click the trash icon in the top right corner.
You get the pop-up warning that the Permanently delete object option will remove the object from the repository along with its relationships.
By clicking Permanently delete object, you get the same pop-up, which displays the list of views and relations where the object is currently being used, as mentioned above.
Delete Multiple Objects:
To delete multiple objects, select them in the view and click the trash icon in the object viewer. Alternatively, in the Objects tab, you can click the trash icon at the top of the page as shown here,
A pop-up warns that the Permanently delete objects option will remove the object from the repository along with its relationships.
By clicking Permanently delete object, you get the same pop-up, which displays the list of views and relations where the object is currently being used, and asks to type DELETE to continue, as mentioned above.









